March 24, 2014

  • Greats and Grands and Shingles OH MY!

    I never seem to have time enough time these day....

    but I wanted to show off my grandchildren

     Reece-Jacklyn-Braylon 3-15-2014

    Our oldest Grandson Reece and Grandaughter-in-law Jacklyn

    Family Day at Ft. Benning Georgia March 15, 2014

    Braylon Matthew

    this is our first Great Grandson Braylon Matthew

    he was born Dec. 20, 2013 weighing a whopping 3 pounds 11 ounces

    he came home February 1, 2014

    Mara Mae 3-23-2014

    Mara is our oldest Granddaughter

    this is her debutante picture I think

    she's a freshman at West Georgia University

    the Debutante Ball raises scholarship money for young women

    Nash and Nova 3-23-2014

    Nova Rae and Nash,

    our youngest granddaughter and grandson

    Nash is a Great Big Brother

    and I am truly blessed.

    Now I'm off to check on the new roofing....

    our house was built sometime prior to 1878

    it has a cedar shake roof  and at least two layers of asphalt shingles on top of that

    now the insurance company say's they won't insure us unless we get a brand new roof

    which means tearing off the roof down to the ceiling rafters

    Barry and I are to old to be tearing off roofing so we're contracting it out.

    it makes me kinda of sad - the roof doesn't leak

    and someone a long time ago put a whole lot of time into nailing up all those shakes

    such is progress I guess....

    I need to cover the attic space so that all the building material and old shakes don't fall into the house

    and make sure the roofers don't trample down the spirea which is in full bloom.

    Ya'll have a Great Week

    ILYM

Comments (13)

  • I was afraid you were talking about the disease shingles, though a new roof can be painful too.
    My mom used to live next door to us. Her A-frame house had a shake roof too. I was sad when she replaced it with a regular roof, but I understood why.
    Nice pics of your grandchildren. Grandkids are special.

  • Lovely photos of the grands and great grands! I too was worried that you had shingles - not replacing shingles! I hope that if we are in this house when we need a new roof that we can afford a steel roof!

  • Your kids of all ages, are so beautiful! So precious! :-) You ARE so blessed! :-) The photo of Nova Rae and Nash brought joy-tears to my eyes! :-)

    Good luck on the roofing! It's sad that it has to be done.

    HUGS!!! :-)

  • Beautiful kids. I am glad you were talking about the ROOF shingles, and not the disease kind!

  • Reese looks proud and happy, and should. His wife is very beautiful and they now have a baby which is so precious. I thank him for his service to our country, and wish his wife the best for times he has to be TDY.

    For the second picture, I am glad to hear that little Braylon was able to come home. I wish him strength and continued health as he grows even more. I was able to hold a couple babies that were preemies before, and though small, they are still incredibly wonderful.

    Best of luck to Mara at college.

    A very sweet endearing last photo of Nova Rae and Nash, a treasure.

  • beautiful family ~ sweet babies ~

  • when I worked in pediatrics for a dr. at my church for 5 yrs once a mom brought in her baby and said,"he looks like a little china man." I thought that but would have never said it to mom. He was prematured but he was also yellow looking and had to go back in the hospital.

  • my cowdog we found at 4 weeks old and we thing mom was picked up by the pound but they didn't know she had dropped a liter under a little shed next door to us. I guess Maggie Mae was the only one who lived and she must have been a tough little gal when she crawled under our fence and I thought the dogs found a turtle or frog.

  • Mara looks like you ,Marsh . This meants she is beautiful..
    The phot of Nash and Nova Tae is a poem . Very moving.
    I am sorry you have to put down your historical roof which did not leak. Those insurances have no respect and no sense of the history . Money is money!!!
    ILYM
    Michel

  • RYC : about creek , I remember very well it . You often speak of her and i RECALL ALSO SOME PHOTOS ;
    MICHEL

  • Your grands and great-grands are beautiful! I love being a grandma! I just wish I didn't live so far away from my sweet little ones. We do talk on the phone and on skype. I try to send them little packages every now and then to remind them I am thinking of them. I love them SO much! Hope the roof project goes well!

  • I envy you! What a lovely family you have. They must love having you as the grandmother/babysitter!! Goodness, you are overloaded!!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.