Month: April 2014

  • Rabbit NPM # 9

    Funny-Cute-Rabbits-Funny-Cute-Rabbit-Picture-047-FunnyPica.com_

    Rabbit

    When my siblings and I were young
    our father would not let us play
    with kids he didn’t know

    There were three of us girls
    and one rotten boy
    playing together was usually quite fun

    We made up our own games
    built forts of pine straw
    found crawdads in creek beds
    and then let them go

    Some games were right dangerous
    thinking back on those days
    where was our Mother?

    Good grief I can’t say!

    Our favorite included
    a black pellet gun
    Oldest sister would aim it and say

    RUN RABBIT RUN

    We ran through the brambles
    round bushes and trees
    if we could find one
    through fences we’d squeeze

    Her aim was right deadly
    from practice I guess
    she aimed for our buttocks
    and never our heads

    california whiteners

    this picture was taken in 1969, that's me on the left, oldest sister next to me, you can probably pick out the rotten brother and baby sister
    Even with sore buttocks we still love each other very very much!

    We all made it to adulthood in one piece, by God's Good Grace I'm sure.
    Now I'm off to help set up tables at church,
    The Baptist women are hosting a brunch Saturday, I'm looking forward to it.
    If there's one thing I can tell you for sure about Southern Baptist women
    it's they know how to cook!

    Have a Great Evening

    ILYM

  • Carpet NPM #8

    Carpet

    carpets of winter
    blankets of snow

    snow and polar plunge 3-6-2014 036

    carpets of spring
    wild violets grow

    violets

    carpets of summer
    sunflowers glow

    sunflower

    carpets of autumn
    bright leaves steal the show

    fall in Ft. Defiance

    I spent more time looking for the photographs than studying the form -
    and as behind as I am in NPM I should quit reading every ones poems,
    lest I turn into a copy cat  - but that's not happening either

    This carpet poem may be a couplet

    poopers on a picnic table

    but doggone if I know for sure!

    Happy Earth Day

    I'm off to plant rosemary bushes

    because all seven of mine died over the winter  =(((

    view from a tower

    ilym

    p.s....

    I woke up at 4:15am this morning to check out the meteors, there was one patch of clear sky around the moon, I watched  unsuccessfully until the cloud cover overtook us...then went back to bed.  I see a little blue sky out right now so maybe tonights the night!

  • Covered Bridges NPM # 7 and shooting stars

    Covered Bridges

    There are fifteen Covered Bridges
    in the state that I call home
    One King and Three Queen Post
    Eleven are Town Latticed

    Piles driven in stream beds
    connect them with beams
    Cover the rafters
    they'll last quite awhile

    Looking quite barnish
    fooled horses will go
    cross troubled water
    steal a kiss and go home

    euharlee-creek-bridge

    The Euharlee Covered Bridge, a wooden Town Lattaced bridge crossing Euharlee Creek in Euharlee, Georgia. The bridge was built after the raging creek swept away an old bridge on the property of Daniel Lowry. The collapse of the bridge killed one man. A new bridge was built in 1886 by Horace King's son Washington King and Johnathan H. Burke, it spans 138 feet. The lattice trusses consist of planks crisscrossing at 45- to 60-degree angles and are fastened with wooden pegs, or trunnels, at each intersection.  Vehicle traffic finally stopped across the bridge in 1980 when a new two-lane bridge was built.  The bridge is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is open to foot traffic seven days a week.  It's the closest Covered Bridge to our home, they have a great BBQ festival there each year in June.

    EARTH DAY AND THE LYRIDS ARE COMING!!! 

    The 2014 Lyrid meteor shower will pepper  the night on the evening of April 21 until before dawn April 22. The predawn hours are typically best – and  April 22, Earth Day morning, is the peak this year. You might also want to try the evening hours this year though, because the light of the last quarter moon, rising at midnight may interfere.

    Clouded out tonight? Or too much moonlight for your taste? You might see some Lyrid meteors on the night of April 22-23, too, especially since a thinner waning moon will be rising later on the morning of April 23, leaving more darkness for meteor watching.

    Tonight will be my best chance, I think seeing a single meteor shooting across a moonlit sky is miraculous, so keep looking up, and if your up in the wee hours before dawn you can see Venus, turned Morning Star on the eastern horizon and Mars and Saturn on the western edge.

    lyrid-meteors-2013-Mike-ONeal-sq

    Thanks EarthSky News!

    have a heavenly evening!

    ILYM

  • 6. Celestial Jerusalem NPM #6

    Celestial Jerusalem

    Seven Stars
    Seven Spirits
    Seven bowls with seven plagues

    Twelve jeweled foundations
    Twelve Apostles
    Twelve Pearly Gates

    Flowing east a river
    clean and clear like a crystal
    bearing life to our souls and a sea once thought barren

    no death, no tears, no fear and no sorrow
    no sun and no moon
    the lambs light we will follow

    Cast off your baggage
    pure hearts will come in
    The Celestial City
    God’s Grace You will Win

    tree-of-life-river-of-life-05-08

    I'm not doing very well writing a poem a day for the National Poetry month, when it came to Celestial Jerusalem, ashamedly ( as I told DanishDoll), I had to google  to get a true understanding, to my dismay the information that came up was from Revelations. I've not read very much in Revelations for the same reason I don’t watch scary movies…anyway I got over my scaredy self and started reading…I want to live in the New Jerusalem…and Revelations ain't that scary (yet =)  I may even watch Cape Fear or something Hitchcock...or maybe not.

    In other news:

    Braylon is doing very well! He and our Granddaughter Jacklyn went to Ft. Benning, Georgia for our Grandson Reeces Turning Blue Ceremony.

    reece and family turning blue 4-17-2014

    Barry and I plan to go to the Graduation Ceremony in the morning, after graduation the kids will come home for 10 days, they'll pack their belongings and head to Ft. Carson, Colorado.  We are So Proud of them!

    Nash is proving to be a Great Big Brother, Nova Rae makes that easy.

    Nash and Nova 4-14-2014

    Our Granddaughter Mara has one week of finals left...then she'll be finished with her freshman year at West Georgia,  she's done very well, she's a a science major...We're really proud of her too!

    mara and the sority girls 2014

    that's her in the middle of her sorority sisters, I think their Tri-Deltas, they do good work for St. Judes Childrens Foundation

    Our roof still isn't finished, but it's a lot closer than it was...I think they'll be done in a another 3 days...or so =/

    and so it begins

    that is if the rain will hold off for awhile...

    little cedar II 4-7-2014

    We've had a lot of rain...

    little cedar 4-7-2014

      the dogs love

    "When streams are ripe and swelled with rain"

    Wishing everyone a wonderful weekend and a joyous Easter

    ilym

  • no poem but good news

    Just a quick note to say thank you for the prayers and good thoughts for Braylon.

    He gained 3 ounces yesterday and pooped !  I don't remember ever being excited about baby poop but we sure are!

    all the test for yucky stuff were negative

    He's got new calorie enhanced vitamin enriched formula and

    He's going home today!

    YAY!!!

    Braylon

    Many Thanks

    ILYM

  • Tiny Miracles NPM#5

    the moon coming up
    the sun going down
    the stars coming out
    the world going round

    each day is a miracle
    our blessings abound

    Our precious great grandson Braylon is in the hospital.  He was born 8 weeks early, 3lbs and 11 ounces.  He's not keeping his formula down very well  and has only gained an ounce in the last 4 weeks, the doctors are running test to see what might be going on.  I'm off to check on him.   Prayers and thoughts positive are welcome.

    Braylon Matthew

    Braylon 3 weeks ago.

    ilym

  • Extraordinary NPM #4

    I have a hard time
    writing poems that don't rhyme
    if they don't
    aren't they really just stories?

    They are not say the books
    there is meter and verse
    to count them you must be a genius!

    You do it with ease
    you've practiced you've pleased
    and that's why I call you
    extraordinary

    I didn't have much time again today...it was an extraordinary day though...I had my first hummingbird visit.
    I put my feeders out as soon as the honeysuckle starts budding out, which was yesterday.  I saw three, probably the same one at different times but boy was I excited!

    Tomorrow I have a VBS workshop... surely I will be inspired by some tiny miracle...if not I'll go through the photo's of the kids and grands....see you soon

    ilym

  • Believe NPM #3

    I believe

    I believe in fairy tales
    nightingales and
    eating kale

    I believe in dandelions
    puppy breath and
    negative Ions

    I believe in pennies heads up
    grab em all
    you'll have good luck

    I believe in being straight
    tell the truth
    don't be late

    I believe in the moon and stars
    making wishes
    good cigars

    I believe that Mountain Tops
    are magic places
    full of love
    and Gods good graces

    four leaf clovers
    counting crows
    one for sorrows
    two for joys

    I'll just say this is free form again, it's a busy time for me at work, however I sure am enjoying the poetry, I could spend more time studying the different poetry forms but then I wouldn't have time to read all the lovely works of art.  Speaking of Mountain Tops...below is one of my favorite mountains.

    Georgia Mountains

    Brasstown Bald is the highest natural point in the state of Georgia, USA, with a summit elevation of 4,784 feet above mean sea level. The mountain is known to the native Cherokee people as Enotah.

     I do believe this is a magical place.

    ilym

     

  • Home Town NPM#2

    My home town is very small
    less than a grand of us
    I know them all

    A grocery, a bank
    two pharmacies and
    three places where you can fill up your tank

    four places to eat
    several antiques
    a grammar school that is pretty darn neat

    but the park is the best
    for fun or for rest
    a cave and a spring we surely are blessed

    Ice Cream in the Park 4-1-2014

    Nash and Nova in the park yesterday
    eating Ice Cream...it was such a lovely day!

    I didn't have much time to study the types of poetry today, but I think this may be Free Verse:

    A Free Verse Poem does not follow any rules. Their creation is completely in the hands of the author. Rhyming, syllable count, punctuation, number of lines, number of stanzas, and line formation can be done however the author wants in order to convey the idea. There is no right or wrong way to create a Free Verse poem.

    whew

    now I'm off to ride the church bus and pick up  little children
    Jesus  loves them all and so do I
    but I'd like to snatch the heads off
    some of the grown-ups
    but I won't

    ILYM

  • SIMPLE ... NPM #1

    April is National Poetry Month and our very own murisopsis has challenged us to write a poem each day of the month.  She also gave us prompts to follow and said it would be easy.....

    the first prompt is "Simple" so I googled simple poetry and found a wealth of information, of course it came from 3rd graders and that's about my speed.  I chose to write Acrostic Poetry today.  Acrostic poetry uses the letters of the title of the poem to create the poem. This is a free form poem and has as many lines as the title has letters.

    This will be a good learning experience...Thanks Val.

    SIMPLE

    Six geese play

    in the creek behind the house

    minding their goslings

    palamates they are, they have simple webbed feet

    Labradors  chase them until I say

    ENOUGH

    3-13-2014 031

    I know there are more than six geese here

    but eight geese simply didn't fit the format...

    this is the creek behind  our house

    and last springs goslings turned into geese

    (ha - that kinda sounded like a poem too

    maybe I'm a poet and don't know it :)

    Have A Great First Day of April

    ILYM