August 26, 2013

  • close your eyes

    This news makes me so very sad:

     

    LOS ANGELES (AP) — Linda Ronstadt says she suffers from Parkinson’s disease, which has robbed her ability to sing.

    The 67-year-old music legend tells AARP Magazine, in an article posted online Friday, that she was diagnosed eight months ago and “can’t sing a note.”

    Ronstadt says she began to show symptoms as long as eight years ago, but attributed her inability to sing then to a tick disease. When her hands began to tremble, Ronstadt said she thought the shaking was the result of a shoulder operation.

    She said she was “completely shocked” when she finally saw a neurologist and was diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease. “I wouldn’t have suspected that in a million, billion years.

    “No one can sing with Parkinson’s disease,” Ronstadt told AARP music writer Alanna Nash. “No matter how hard you try.”

     

     

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZnrHXQVEXDo

     

    have a good week

    ilym

     

Comments (11)

  • I read this the other day. Sadly. I always liked her.

  • I read this the other day, too. It made me so so SO sad. I've always loved her voice and songs! I listen to her music on-line all the time.
    HUGS!!!

  • A great singer. I remember when she was dating Governor Jerry Brown.

  • Age has caught up with all our favorites...Makes me feel old.

  • Suprised to hear she had a 'tick disease' and wonder if that is Lyme disease. A friend of mine caught that. Could it have been a contributing factor perhaps? It is sad.

  • It's really sad news. Here's hoping that new discoveries will lead to a cure for all those with Parkinson's.

  • This news about tha singer makes me sad too , Marsha . :( So young!
    All of my condolences for the los of your aunt from tEXAS ; I wish you a safe trip :yes:
    ILYM :heartbeat
    Michel

  • I loved her voice. I am so sorry to hear of her problem with Parkinson's disease.

  • It was a great pleasure to read your comment marsha and to be the first or second commented by you.
    we have to adapt ourself to the new xanga . The problem I have is to visit the site of my commenters . For instance I had to go to the previous entry on my site to find your name-link. Now the name is no more a link nor the picture !
    Love
    Michel
    yes no smileys and minis !!! a bit sad ! :)

  • The week is getting better!! :)

    • Yes it is Mornin Glorie - I'm having some difficulty getting to everyones sites but I'll learn...I'm not an old dog - yet =))) ilym

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.