March 5, 2014

  • Just Shoot Me Now

    I've been visiting around today...I appreciate every single one of you who are still posting and blogging ... your writing, jokes and photography inspire me to the point that I blog in your comment sections!  for example  Wematter  blogged about National Geographic "Your Shot"  today, or maybe it was yesterday.

    http://yourshot.nationalgeographic.com/

    anyway...he/she has amazing photography...you should check it out if you haven't already.

    Here's was my comment :

    I've been a member of the National Geographic since 1978. And believe it or not I think I might be responsible for Your Shot. I had what I thought was a remarkable photograph and thought the NG should use it so I called them up and asked if they had a forum for reader contributions, well the NG guy said “no we don’t, can you imagine how many photographs we’d have to go through if we did” and I said “exactly"! Anyway about 6 months later they started “Your Shot”, it’s my favorite part of the magazine now…Now my problem is trying to re-size my photos to meet the requirements…and I need a better camera =/ hummmmm….I seem to be blogging in everyone’s comments today.

    I also made this Boobie Joke

    Do you think blue footed boobies have cold feet? hahahahahaha

    I received this comment in return, at his place and mine since we don't have any way of  knowing when we respond to each others questions and such...

    "I’ll ask you here: How many megapixels does your camera give you? What’s your average pixel dimensions? Maybe I can help you."

    How nice is that!  It's one of the reasons I stay on here in xangaland...people are nice

    and nice is Good!

    anyway

     this is the latest photo I wanted to enter

    Max and the sea gulls

    This is the message I received from National Geographic:

    There's a problem. This file does not meet the requirements.
    Photos must be at least 1,600 pixels wide (if a horizontal image) or 1,600 pixels tall (if a vertical image).

    this picture was taken with a cell phone and I don't know how many megapixels it offers...

    this image has 960 pixels horizontally and vertically which isn't large enough by a good bit.

    I'm not savvy enough to figure out how to change pixels.

    Wematter, If you can help that would be wonderful but..

    I think I need to invest in a good camera - the hubby has a nice Cannon but it seems to always be out of batteries or something.

    045

    this is a shot of the fog rolling down the hill behind my office, taken with a little polaroid point and shoot.  The images just aren't big enough.

    sigh

     it's Wednesday

    that means I get to lead the preschoolers at church tonight.

    We're going to learn the song " I like to go to Church" to the tune of Farmer in the Dale.

    Do kids still sing Farmer in the Dale?

    I'll let you know

    =)

    ILYM

Comments (27)

  • My grandson calls McDonald's Old McDonald.

  • I will have to google it,too. My hubby wants a drive thru ashes. He's not any better catholic then I am.

  • If you load your photo onto your computer, you can resize your photos easily using Picasa or any other editing software. On Picasa, I believe the resizing is on the 'Export' action. That seagull photo is really nice!

  • I'll get back to you

  • I have the first one enlarged, trying to figure out how to get it to you at the size that it is. Currently 1650x1650 it doesn't look as though you lost any quality. xanga is 1024.

  • Ok I emailed the photo at 1650 x 1650 about 420 kbs. I hope it works, it's a nice photo.

  • Sent the 2nd one at 1650 x 928

  • Those pics are nice maybe just need to get a new battery for the good canon.

  • Btw I just noticed Janet's comment. I tested picasa and it resizes at 1600 max but when I tested the size after resizing, the size was 150 kbs short of NG requirements. I rarely use picasa but adobe is the better way to go for resizing.

  • I love the picture of the seagulls. I know practically nothing about cameras. I did learn the hard way that you must never drop them in the sand at the beach. I think kids still sing Old MacDonald had a farm. I doubt if any of my younger grandkids know Farmer in the Dell.

  • Beautiful pictures. You are such a neat person Marsha. I hope you get your photo published in NG. I have never been to wematter's blog, but shall do now.

  • That kid has such joy running with the seagulls.
    I work in church nurseries too and yes, we have sung that song, both the church version and the original Farmer in the Dell.

  • Xanga is known for its good people! Al those that remain have been so nice and helpful especially with the glitches of learning how to navigate this new version... wematter is great and I really like his photos!

  • Wow, great photo with the seagulls! :)

  • Those are lovely photos, even if they don't fit size requirements. I think they should be more flexible with that. Maybe they could have two or three photos on the page instead of one big one. Oh well, progress is slow!

  • I agree ~ people on Xanga are so helpful ~ and your photo is just lovely!

  • I don't know if kids still sing that farmer song. Love the top picture especially! I think having more pictures from readers would actually increase the interest in National Geographic. We got it for years and then quit because so much of it doesn't have God in it. :-) I enjoy Xanga too. Helps preserve memories.

  • Wowza! Your photo is stunning! :-)

    You've gotten great advice on your photo! Hope it works and you get your photo in NG! :-)

    Ha! On the boobies! :-D

    Is that Farmer STILL in the dell?!

    HUGS and ♥ !!! :-)

  • yes, we usually read a book that is a few years old for the librarian can find it cheap on Amazon. Several people use their nook.

  • lol on your comment on my post... clocks go back, extra hour of sun and warmth... I wish. :-D

  • with everything I have to restrain myself to just one globe. I will get more and put them in my booth-you used to find them cheap at garage sales but this one I traded with a fellow saver. LOL He said,"it doesn't have the new countries on it." I said that's even better.

  • I love your top photo! :-) peace

  • My camera can give the pictures that you want about pixels but I confess I do not try to get the super high quality but only the quality needed for the print of the sites. I am proud for you to know you are a NG member .
    ILYM
    Michel

  • I like especially the first photo . It expresses the dynamism of the time , and the movement.

  • I was gonna' say Happy Moon-Day! But, that was yesterday! Yikes, it's Tuesday already!
    HUGS!!! :-D

  • Welcome Nova Rae , Nash sister !
    Marsha I am sorry you cannot blog anymore .
    Here is my site 's address http://fauquet.xanga.com/.
    If you have to change ( word press for instance ) let e know your new address .
    Yes the japanese quince has hard thorns
    Love
    Michel

  • so glad that my surgery is over and now the hard part starts. No weight on my foot for a week and then the heel for 4 weeks.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.