April 4, 2014

  • Extraordinary NPM #4

    I have a hard time
    writing poems that don't rhyme
    if they don't
    aren't they really just stories?

    They are not say the books
    there is meter and verse
    to count them you must be a genius!

    You do it with ease
    you've practiced you've pleased
    and that's why I call you
    extraordinary

    I didn't have much time again today...it was an extraordinary day though...I had my first hummingbird visit.
    I put my feeders out as soon as the honeysuckle starts budding out, which was yesterday.  I saw three, probably the same one at different times but boy was I excited!

    Tomorrow I have a VBS workshop... surely I will be inspired by some tiny miracle...if not I'll go through the photo's of the kids and grands....see you soon

    ilym

Comments (20)

  • I don't think a poem has to rhyme, some of the nicest poems have a golden message an a beautiful flow. Rhyming is cool too but it can get cheesy like a nursery rhyme. It's hard to find the balance. I like deep meaning poems not prose that I have to decipher the message. Just the way I feel.

  • Is this a non-poem, then? I love it, and it's very poetic!

  • Marsh, you too are extraordinary.

  • *Marsha

  • your poem about "I believe " was so spontaneous and clear , it was really a poem.
    In this present entry, I think the poem is in the second part ( hummingbrds and honeysuckle starting budding.
    ILYM
    michel

  • VBS workshop... oh boy. It's about that time of year again for planning, huh? grumblegrumblegrumble, I feel like I'm still recovering from last summer's VBS haha

  • Yay! Poems are stories - or descriptions of our internal landscape or sometimes the external landscape... they are stories of love and hate and life and death and everything inbetween. And you are a poet!!

    I have very fond memories of VBS!

  • I loved your insightful poem question whether or not what you wrote was indeed a poem. Clever and nicely done.

    frank

  • yours is truthful
    I'm not a writer or poet but a story teller.

  • I too enjoy rhyming. :-)
    and yes, I get excited about hummingbirds too!
    I haven't had one visit in a few years, but I do not put out feeders either. I am, however, trying to get some hummingbird variety wildflowers to grow on my porch this spring.
    Hope you had a blessed sabbath day.

  • awww! I love it Marsha.

  • Poems don't have to rhyme. But I admire those poets who can do it! Ha, like Seuss.
    Your poem is fun!
    YOU are extraordinary!
    :-)
    I got so excited when I saw two hummingbirds last week! :-)
    I hope your VBS workshop went well!
    HUGS!!!
    :-)

  • Poems don't have to rhyme to be fine, just some of the time, like mine.
    I really liked this one you wrote here!

  • yes, that Peewee Herman is waiting for some one to sit down.
    Ash trays are becoming antiques though.

  • I like this poem... for that's what it is! I love how just normal little things that occur in our day are really extraordinary ... it's a lot in our perspective. :-)

  • You could definitely see your skills within the paintings you write. The arena hopes for more passionate writers like you who are not afraid to say how they believe. At all times follow your heart.

  • Enter the phrase "truck" inside the "Search For" field and click the "Search" button.

  • Hi, i think that i saw you visited my web site thus i came to “return the favor”.I am
    trying to find things to improve my site!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

  • Excellent post however , I was wanting to know if you could write a litte more on this subject?
    I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little
    bit further. Many thanks!

  • Very good posts from you, fellow. I’ve understand your point and you’re just extremely great.
    I really like what you have here, actually like what you’re stating as well as the way in which you say it.
    You make it interesting. I cant wait to read much more from you.
    This is really a great website.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.