January 14, 2014

  • back in the day

    • Michel fauquet  noticed that I had a new profile picture up.  Actually it's an old picture
    • about 20 years old.
    •  Lordy where does the time go.
    • .me and the twins
    • anyway,
    • these are  our twins,
    • Anna and Sarah and me.

    Anna and Sarah at MaryBeths wedding June 23, 2012

    this is a recent photo of Anna and Sarah

    we were at weddings both times.

    While I was going through photographs

    I came across more that are favorites in the before and after scheme of things

    mudcousins

    that's me on the far right with my sisters and cousins

     probably from the late 60's

    williams and stancells

     nieces and nephews

    I'm thinking the late 80's here

    cousins

    Great nieces and nephews and grandson

    last summer at Mom's house

    Our family is filled to the brim with GREAT Peoples

    I think it must have  something to do with playin in the mud =)))

     

    Close pairing of moon and Jupiter on January 14 Read more

    this is just a reminder to look up to the heavens

    the moon and jupiter are dancing

    it's been a glorious day here...

    one of those crystal blue sky days without a cloud in sight

    reminding me of a favorite scripture:

    Psalm 66:5

     Come and see the works of God,
    Who is awesome in His deeds toward the sons of men.

     

    Life is Good

    in fact it's just GREAT

    Vincent van Gogh. The Starry Night. Saint Rémy, June 1889

    murisopsis posted a painting by her favorite artist a few days ago, and suggested I might do the same, van Gogh is probably the first artist I ever noticed, this is my favorite of his paintings and below a note to his brother...

    "This morning I saw the country from my window a long time before sunrise, with nothing but the morning star, which looked very big," van Gogh wrote to his brother Theo, from France. Rooted in imagination and memory, The Starry Nightembodies an inner, subjective expression of van Goghs response to nature. In thick, sweeping brushstrokes, a flamelike cypress unites the churning sky and the quiet village below. The village was partly invented, and the church spire evokes van Gogh's native land, the Netherlands.

    ilym

     

Comments (14)

  • I love the mud photos!! It does bring back memories! And this van Gogh is one of his most well know (and I don't know anyone that doesn't enjoy it)!

    BTW: The twins are gorgeous!

  • I remember your pic, hard to forget. And when I look at your daughters, umm look what you started. :D Must have been fun when they were little.

  • One of my favorite artists also. I love the pic of the kids all covered in mud. Reminds me of my childhood!

  • yes, a wonderful painting.
    those photos are great. Great memories.

  • I enjoyed the pictures and the painting. That is a good verse. I will look at the sky tonight before I go to bed.

  • Lovely photos! I love seeing old family photos.

  • Such beauty: I speak of you and your two twins . I thinks it always is the same now ;
    Since you speak of art ,Marsha, it is not surprising I noticed that photo.
    About Starry night and Van Gogh I know well the area of France where the painter found the inspiration . It was in Saint-Rémi-de Provence . We were there 6 or 7 years ago. This region is called Prevence and has something magical . I posted about on Xanga at this time.
    ILYM
    Michel

  • I love vanGogh! I discovered him and his work when I was a teenager! I have a poster of three of his paintings in my office! :-)

    The "old" photos are fun!!! Love the mud one!!! Brings back memories! I still love making a good mud puddle! (Yes, if there is not one around, I'll make one! :-D )

    I took a walk this morning at 4:30 a.m. The sky was stunning! The moon and stars so bright and it seemed I could reach out and touch them!!! :-)
    HUGS!!! :-)

  • You are a beautiful lady Marsha.; I love your profile picture. I have no idea how I could change my profile pictures on Xanga now. Love the photo of the kids covered in mud. How adorable!

  • Great Pictures bring back wonderful memories. Thanks for sharing!

  • Yes, mud is a good glue for children to stick together and remember later! :D

    Love the thoughts that go along with the painting.

  • RYC : yes Marsha you are lucky to be able to walk to go to work and Church. This keeps you serene . and we cam meet people and maintain human relations IN OUR QUARTER, in our dtreet .
    I wish you a good Sunday
    Love
    Michel

  • Ohmygosh! It’s National HUGGING DAY/Week and I wanted to give you some hugs!!!
    HUGS!!! :-D

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.