Month: March 2014

  • Scavenger Poems

      • murisopsis  is promoting National Poetry Month...I'm going to do this, you should too

      April is National Poetry Month and since Leah is no longer on xanga I’ve had to come up with a Scavenger Hunt on my own. The rules are simple, write one poem a day using any form your heart desires using the prompts listed below (there are 30 days in April so there are 30 prompts). And of course you have to post the poem on your Xanga blog. It’s Easy Peasy. Although there are no prizes, everyone that plays along is a winner! Now you don’t have to be a Poet Laureate to play. In fact writing poetry is kind of like anything – you have to do it to get better. So here is your chance to get into the groove of poetry writing in a non-judgemental forum. Xanga is filled with folks that even though they may not love poetry, they do love their fellow xangans and will give you the support and positive feedback that every budding poet needs. So let’s put our poetry out there!!

      1. Simple
      2. Home town
      3. Believe
      4. Extraordinary
      5. Tiny miracles
      6. Celestial Jerusalem
      7. Covered bridge
      8. Carpet
      9. Rabbit
      10. Encouragement
      11. Snowbirds
      12. Meatloaf
      13. Hijinks
      14. Cabin fever
      15. Wind chimes
      16. Youth
      17. Steeples
      18. Ghosts
      19. Fountain pen
      20. Resurrection
      21. Tomatoes
      22. Hard boiled eggs
      23. I do not wish to contend
      24. Kibble
      25. Wool socks
      26. Oil changes
      27. Dog hair
      28. Growth
      29. Conceit
      30. Patience

    I have a hard time saying patience without adding Grasshopper

        • Nova Rae 3-29-2014

    and the poems might all be about grandchildren ....

    ILYM

  • Greats and Grands and Shingles OH MY!

    I never seem to have time enough time these day....

    but I wanted to show off my grandchildren

     Reece-Jacklyn-Braylon 3-15-2014

    Our oldest Grandson Reece and Grandaughter-in-law Jacklyn

    Family Day at Ft. Benning Georgia March 15, 2014

    Braylon Matthew

    this is our first Great Grandson Braylon Matthew

    he was born Dec. 20, 2013 weighing a whopping 3 pounds 11 ounces

    he came home February 1, 2014

    Mara Mae 3-23-2014

    Mara is our oldest Granddaughter

    this is her debutante picture I think

    she's a freshman at West Georgia University

    the Debutante Ball raises scholarship money for young women

    Nash and Nova 3-23-2014

    Nova Rae and Nash,

    our youngest granddaughter and grandson

    Nash is a Great Big Brother

    and I am truly blessed.

    Now I'm off to check on the new roofing....

    our house was built sometime prior to 1878

    it has a cedar shake roof  and at least two layers of asphalt shingles on top of that

    now the insurance company say's they won't insure us unless we get a brand new roof

    which means tearing off the roof down to the ceiling rafters

    Barry and I are to old to be tearing off roofing so we're contracting it out.

    it makes me kinda of sad - the roof doesn't leak

    and someone a long time ago put a whole lot of time into nailing up all those shakes

    such is progress I guess....

    I need to cover the attic space so that all the building material and old shakes don't fall into the house

    and make sure the roofers don't trample down the spirea which is in full bloom.

    Ya'll have a Great Week

    ILYM

  • I'm back....

    Nova Rae 3-17-2014 005

    The new granddaughter does have a name:

    Nova Rae Bryant

    She is the best baby ever, although I'm pretty sure I've said that about all my babies.

    Nash and Nova 3-17-2014 014

    Nash, Nova and Tiffany (my daughter-in-law)

    Jordan and Nova 3-14-2014

    Our son Jordan and Nova's father

    They sure have made me a proud Grandmother

    only they don't call me grandmother they call me Moon...How cool is that!

    A big thank you to Dr. ZSA_MD and to Eugenia at xanga.  I'd forgotten to respond to an important email and my account was deactivated yesterday.  Apparently, despite lack of communications, xanga is alive...and Zakiah and Eugenia Rock!

    ILYM

     

  • number 5

    This morning at 6:16am our 5th grandchild was born.  A precious little girl, she weighed 7 lbs. 5.3 oz. and is 20 inches tall...

     

    Baby Girl 3-13-2014

     

    I missed the delivery by 15 minutes  but I told them not to wait on me.

    She's just beautiful...but we need a name, if you have suggestions chime in.

    I'm going to spend the night at the hospital with Mother and Child, so Mom can catch some much needed sleep and I can have the baby all to myself =)

    ILYM

  • Just Shoot Me Now

    I've been visiting around today...I appreciate every single one of you who are still posting and blogging ... your writing, jokes and photography inspire me to the point that I blog in your comment sections!  for example  Wematter  blogged about National Geographic "Your Shot"  today, or maybe it was yesterday.

    http://yourshot.nationalgeographic.com/

    anyway...he/she has amazing photography...you should check it out if you haven't already.

    Here's was my comment :

    I've been a member of the National Geographic since 1978. And believe it or not I think I might be responsible for Your Shot. I had what I thought was a remarkable photograph and thought the NG should use it so I called them up and asked if they had a forum for reader contributions, well the NG guy said “no we don’t, can you imagine how many photographs we’d have to go through if we did” and I said “exactly"! Anyway about 6 months later they started “Your Shot”, it’s my favorite part of the magazine now…Now my problem is trying to re-size my photos to meet the requirements…and I need a better camera =/ hummmmm….I seem to be blogging in everyone’s comments today.

    I also made this Boobie Joke

    Do you think blue footed boobies have cold feet? hahahahahaha

    I received this comment in return, at his place and mine since we don't have any way of  knowing when we respond to each others questions and such...

    "I’ll ask you here: How many megapixels does your camera give you? What’s your average pixel dimensions? Maybe I can help you."

    How nice is that!  It's one of the reasons I stay on here in xangaland...people are nice

    and nice is Good!

    anyway

     this is the latest photo I wanted to enter

    Max and the sea gulls

    This is the message I received from National Geographic:

    There's a problem. This file does not meet the requirements.
    Photos must be at least 1,600 pixels wide (if a horizontal image) or 1,600 pixels tall (if a vertical image).

    this picture was taken with a cell phone and I don't know how many megapixels it offers...

    this image has 960 pixels horizontally and vertically which isn't large enough by a good bit.

    I'm not savvy enough to figure out how to change pixels.

    Wematter, If you can help that would be wonderful but..

    I think I need to invest in a good camera - the hubby has a nice Cannon but it seems to always be out of batteries or something.

    045

    this is a shot of the fog rolling down the hill behind my office, taken with a little polaroid point and shoot.  The images just aren't big enough.

    sigh

     it's Wednesday

    that means I get to lead the preschoolers at church tonight.

    We're going to learn the song " I like to go to Church" to the tune of Farmer in the Dale.

    Do kids still sing Farmer in the Dale?

    I'll let you know

    =)

    ILYM