April 1, 2014

  • SIMPLE ... NPM #1

    April is National Poetry Month and our very own murisopsis has challenged us to write a poem each day of the month.  She also gave us prompts to follow and said it would be easy.....

    the first prompt is "Simple" so I googled simple poetry and found a wealth of information, of course it came from 3rd graders and that's about my speed.  I chose to write Acrostic Poetry today.  Acrostic poetry uses the letters of the title of the poem to create the poem. This is a free form poem and has as many lines as the title has letters.

    This will be a good learning experience...Thanks Val.

    SIMPLE

    Six geese play

    in the creek behind the house

    minding their goslings

    palamates they are, they have simple webbed feet

    Labradors  chase them until I say

    ENOUGH

    3-13-2014 031

    I know there are more than six geese here

    but eight geese simply didn't fit the format...

    this is the creek behind  our house

    and last springs goslings turned into geese

    (ha - that kinda sounded like a poem too

    maybe I'm a poet and don't know it :)

    Have A Great First Day of April

    ILYM

     

Comments (11)

  • Just because there are eight geese does not mean that there are not also six geese, for one can not count to eight without first counting to six, therefore the picture fits perfectly.

    I like the format. Sometimes I write secret messages using the Acrostic form, although I never knew that is what it is called.

    I like your simple poem

  • Excellent!! I love the acrostic!

  • Hi...I'm Carolyn, & we have many of the same friends on Xanga. I've often read your comments, & thought ... "I like this lady!" So today I came over to meet you. New month -- new friend (if you accept me)!
    I too wrote an acrostic for my first offering for Poetry Month. I really like yours, & your home is beautiful, too!
    I see you have pictures of your children & grandchildren ... & that's something else that we have in common! ♥ :-)

  • NICE poem!!! love the pic too. ILYMM

  • We have sort of a big pond in Monterey, Ca with many well fed geese. Tourists and locals feed them so them never fly away.
    I liked your prose and photo.

    Hope you are having a good week.

    frank

  • I'm not an expert but sounds good to me, I like the visual aid too.

  • I enjoy watching birds, ducks and geese. I liked your poem. I learned something here. I had written an acrostic poem for this prompt too, and didn't even know that's what it was called. I'm sure I was taught that many moons ago in high school but my brain surely doesn't retain everything, so it was nice to re- learn.

  • In French we say " simple comme bonjour " that may be said in English by " as simple as hello"
    Please click here : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WH77XnAaeiA
    ILYM
    Michel

  • I love your
    S
    I
    M
    P
    L
    E
    poem! Creative and fun! :-)
    I love to watch geese!
    HUGS!!! :-)

  • Excellent article. I appreciate you for sharing it to
    us. I have learned very much.

  • Fantastic information, better still to find out your blog that has a great layout.
    Effectively done

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.