August 5, 2014

  • Ole Tobie

    In the past I've ended most days in prayer, more often than not this was ritual, thanking God for family and friends, asking for rain or not so much rain and  asking for prayers for those in need.  However recently  when I lay me down to sleep I just talk with God, most nights it's a short conversation before I drift off to a nice quite restful state.  Last Sunday night the talk was quite lengthy, Tobie, who'd taken up sleeping at the foot of my bed, was very restless.  Outside Lightnin McQueen, having been sent to the pen for the night, for chewing up right flip flops, was barking poor poor pitiful me and although I could overlook (or hear) the whining, my neighbor who is just finishing up radiation and chemo treatments, probably didn't find him as endearing as I,  although she has never once complained ...anyway....I got up, went through the house to the kitchen window and yelled at Lightin to HUSH UP !!!! ,  Tobie followed me and when out the kitchen door...Lightnin stopped barking... I went back to bed, it was 2:22am on the cable box as I passed by.

    The next morning I got up and got ready for work as usual. Backing out the drive way I saw Tobie laying under the pecan tree, it looked like he's taken a final stroll down to the creek and on his way back to the house had laid down to keep the squirrels out of the pecans one last time.  I went back to the house and told Barry, I offered to stay home and help dig the grave, down by the creek in the pet cemetery, but  he declined and said he'd call me at work when things were ready, and he did.  Big Moon as Nash and I call him, prepared the grave and called me to come for the closing.  At 11:30 we laid Tobie to rest with all the dogs that have come and gone before him. He was 12 and a half years old, he'd had a really good life, but I sure will miss him.

    Santa Dogs

    Tobie's the yellow on the left....He was a Good dog.

    RIP TOBIE TUCKER

    January 2002   - July 2014

    I've not been able to post from work, I can usually read your post and keep up with your lives but I can't post and comment...  however....today I called and left a message with a computer dude, that I trust, to come work on my computer.  Hopefully soon I'll be able to communicate from work again. I'm at home now, usually my home time is pretty darn sacred....but you are all very important and I wanted to record  Tobies passing before the memory fades, because they do.  We've buried many a dog down by the creek...they all face eastwardish. If I don't get working on headstones soon I'm afraid we might start diggin up dogs.

    Signing off from the Home front

    ILYM

Comments (20)

  • It's always hard to say goodbye to a trusted and unconditional friend. He looks like he'd have been a perfect companion.

  • I'm so sorry to hear about Tobie -- but it sounds like he had a good, long life. Is Lightnin ok?

  • It's sad. That's why I don't want a dog they always leave early.

  • Aw. :-( What a handsome fellow Tobie was. May he rest in peace.
    Thank you for being his family.
    (((HUGS)))

  • My condolences. Tobie was a good dog and had a wonderful life. I hope Nash doesn't miss him too much... *hugs*

  • awww ~ so sorry ~

  • I'm so sorry. It's hard to say good-bye to a good dog.

  • I am sorry for your loss. Losing pets is never easy.

  • Awe shucks Marsha. I am so sorry. Ilym.

  • Aww, I'm sorry for your loss. I've laid two cats to rest, and I still miss them both, even after 7 years. :-(

  • A loss of companion such Tobie is a hard pass . I knew this in the past and already posted about that only one dog we got
    What you say: praying at the minute of falling in sleep shows how you abandon yourself in God in totale confidence.
    ILYM
    MIchel

  • RIP, Tobie :(

    big hugs

  • RYC ;Thanks ,Marsha, for the compliment!!! :-) :)
    ILYM
    MIchel

  • Thinking of you and praying for your family!
    (((HUGS)))

  • Oh! Marsha ! Where is this deserted internetless island you been abandoned in ? :) :-)
    ILYM
    Michel

  • so sorry for your loss ... animals have been my closets companions if the truth be told blessings ~~~ beck

  • I'm sorry for the loss of your friend Tobie. It's always hard to lose a friend -- animal or human. He was a pretty dog. (HUGS) ~ Carolyn

  • Miss you 'round here! Hope and pray all is okay!
    My xanga sub will be expired soon, so I'll be shutting down and hanging at WP...lots of good people there.
    HUGS!!! :-) And thank you for always being so kind to me here! :-)

  • Hello Marsha ! What is happening ?

  • I am fascinated by this insightful article. There are actually plenty of
    things pointed out here I had never thought of before.
    You have made me comprehend there is more than one way to think about
    these things.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.