November 10, 2014

  • Thank a Veteran

    Someone asked me today why we were celebrating Veterans Day on Tuesday instead of Monday this year...I told them I thought we always celebrated on the 11th of November...not being for certain I googled it, cause you know if it's on the internet it has to be true  =))))))))

     Who Knew?:

    Here's what you need to know:

    Difference between Veterans Day and Memorial Day: Veterans Day is a federal holiday that is celebrated on Nov. 11 each year. It's often confused with Memorial Day, which is set aside to honor those who died serving their country. Veterans Day is for all those who have served in the armed forces.

    Armistice Day: The origins of the holiday date back to U.S. President Woodrow Wilson, who proclaimed Armistice Day on Nov. 11, 1919 to mark the end of World War I. The armistice between Germany and the Allied nations that ended WWI was signed on that day and a ceasefire went into effect on the 11th hour of Nov. 11, 1918. An interesting note on that day, however. The war didn't have its official end until seven months later, when, on June 28, 1919, the parties signed the Treaty of Versailles in the Palace of Versailles in France.

    How it was first marked: The initial celebration included a short work stopping at 11 a.m. on Nov. 11.

    Early description of the holiday: Wilson's proclamation noted: "To us in America, the reflections of Armistice Day will be filled with solemn pride in the heroism of those who died in the country's service and with gratitude for the victory, both because of the thing from which it has freed us and because of the opportunity it has given America to show her sympathy with peace and justice in the councils of the nations."

    Congress joins in: On June 4, 1926, Congress passed its own resolution asking President Calvin Coolidge to issue another proclamation to observe Nov. 11 as a holiday designed to celebrate world peace and the end of WWI.

    Alabama's role: In 1945, Birmingham veteran Raymond Weeks, a veteran of World War II, led a delegation to then Army Chief of Staff Gen. Dwight Eisenhower to convince him to turn Armistice Day into a time to honor all those who served in the armed forces. Weeks led the first national celebration in Alabama in 1947, something he continued to do until his death in 1985.

    Name change: Eisenhower, by then president, signed a bill into law in 1954 and Congress voted to change the name from Armistice Day to Veterans Day.

    Day change: Veterans Day was moved to the fourth Monday of October in 1971 but was changed back to its original Nov. 11 date in 1978. If the day falls on a Saturday or Sunday, then it's observed on Monday or Friday, respectively.

    How it's celebrated now: Veterans Day is now observed on Nov. 11, regardless of which day of the week on which day it falls. Federal and most state offices are closed on the day, as are most schools.

    So there ya go - our schools are not closed tomorrow, but they do have a very nice memorial service at 11:00 and then they feed the local veterans in the school cafeteria.

    Here's one of my favorite Veteran photo's:

    U.S. Navy sailor Glenn Edward McDuffie kisses a nurse in Times Square in an impromptu moment at the close of World War Two

    it reminds me of the old movie with Frank Sinatra and Gene Kelly:

    On the Town:

    On_the_Town_poster

    Have a Great week!

    ilym

Comments (51)

  • You're most welcome!

  • That is a really sweet and lovely photo of the couple kissing :D

  • It's a good holiday. America has to take care of the veterans.

  • Love the history of it all. I always take a moment of silence on 11-11 at 11:00 to remember. I'm hoping the American Legion is selling the paper poppies for your lapel again this year - I try to buy one to help the vets!

  • That is my favorite veteran pic too. I did not know all the background to the day so thanks for laying that all out.

  • I'm grateful for the Veterans and the way they serve their country. I will remember.

    love to you friend! <3

  • This is a nice educational blog.
    Being in an AirForce town, most everything is closed here for the day, including schools.
    That is an iconic photo of the kiss, but there is a not so romantic background. The lady in that photo didn't even know the man who grabbed and kissed her.

  • I was yesterday at the commemoration in Amiens (Somme ) of the armistice of 1918 . In the past I lived in Arras (Artois ) and I went to the ceremony at the monument to the soldiers killed at the War I . A band was playing the national anthems . It is good to keep memory of those who gave their life for us .
    Love
    Michel

  • I've learn several just right stuff here. Certainly
    price bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how so much attempt you place to make this type of fantastic informative
    website.

  • When someone writes an paragraph he/she retains the
    thought of a user in his/her mind that how a user can understand it.
    So that's why this article is amazing. Thanks!

  • Hi! I realize this is sort of off-topic but I needed to ask.
    Does managing a well-established blog like yours take
    a large amount of work? I am brand new to writing a blog however I do write in my journal daily.
    I'd like to start a blog so I can easily share my
    own experience and thoughts online. Please let me know if you have any
    suggestions or tips for new aspiring bloggers. Appreciate it!

  • Every weekend i used to visit this site, for the reason that i want enjoyment, since this
    this web site conations actually fastidious funny stuff too.

  • Your means of describing the whole thing in this post is truly good, all be capable of effortlessly understand it, Thanks a lot.

  • Hi are using WordPress for your site platform?

    I'm new to the blog world but I'm trying to get started and create my
    own. Do you need any coding expertise to make your own blog?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  • Hi to every one, for the reason that I am actually keen of reading this webpage's post to be updated daily.
    It contains fastidious material.

  • Howdy! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with us so I came
    to look it over. I'm definitely enjoying the information. I'm book-marking and will
    be tweeting this to my followers! Exceptional blog and superb design and style.

  • I don't even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was
    great. I do not know who you are but certainly you are going to a famous blogger if you aren't already ;) Cheers!

  • Good web site you've got here.. It's hard to find quality writing like yours these days.
    I honestly appreciate individuals like you!

    Take care!!

  • Hello, this weekend is pleasant in favor of me, for the reason that this moment i am reading this fantastic
    informative post here at my home.

  • I simply couldn't leave your site before suggesting
    that I actually enjoyed the usual info a person supply in your visitors?
    Is going to be again incessantly in order to inspect new posts

  • Thanks , I've recently been searching for info about
    this subject for a while and yours is the best I've discovered so far.

    But, what in regards to the conclusion? Are you sure in regards
    to the supply?

  • I visited various web pages however the audio feature for audio
    songs current at this site is truly marvelous.

  • I'm amazed, I have to admit. Seldom do I come across a blog that's both equally
    educative and interesting, and let me tell you, you've hit the nail on the head.
    The problem is an issue that too few folks are speaking intelligently about.
    I am very happy that I came across this in my search
    for something relating to this.

  • Remarkable things here. I am very happy to peer your article.
    Thank you a lot and I'm looking forward to touch you.
    Will you please drop me a mail?

  • Hi mates, how is all, and what you want to say on the topic of this post,
    in my view its really amazing in favor of me.

  • I'm truly enjoying the design and layout of your blog.
    It's a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me to come here and visit more often.
    Did you hire out a designer to create your theme? Excellent
    work!

  • Excellent article. Keep writing such kind of information on your blog.
    Im really impressed by it.
    Hello there, You've done an incredible job.
    I will certainly digg it and in my view suggest to my friends.
    I am confident they will be benefited from this site.

  • Magnificent items from you, man. I have remember your stuff previous to
    and you're simply extremely magnificent. I really like
    what you've bought here, really like what you're stating and the way in which wherein you are saying it.
    You are making it enjoyable and you still take care of to stay it smart.
    I can't wait to read far more from you. This is
    actually a tremendous website.

  • Thank you a bunch for sharing this with all people you actually recognise what
    you're speaking approximately! Bookmarked. Please also talk over with my site =).
    We may have a link change contract among us

  • Hey there! I realize this is sort of off-topic however I needed to ask.
    Does operating a well-established blog like yours take
    a large amount of work? I am brand new to operating a blog but I do
    write in my diary on a daily basis. I'd like to start a blog so I will be able to share
    my experience and views online. Please let me know if you have any kind of recommendations or tips for new
    aspiring blog owners. Thankyou!

  • What's up to every body, it's my first pay a quick visit of this weblog; this web
    site carries awesome and actually excellent material in support of readers.

  • Usually I don't learn post on blogs, but I wish to say that
    this write-up very forced me to check out and
    do it! Your writing style has been surprised me.
    Thank you, very nice post.

  • Hello, i feel that i saw you visited my web site thus i came to go back the choose?.I am attempting to in finding issues to enhance
    my site!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

  • What's Happening i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I have discovered It positively helpful and it has
    helped me out loads. I hope to give a contribution & aid different customers like
    its aided me. Good job.

  • I'm truly enjoying the design and layout of your website.
    It's a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for
    me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a developer to create
    your theme? Fantastic work!

  • When I initially commented I clicked the "Notify me when new comments are added" checkbox
    and now each time a comment is added I get four e-mails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove people from that service?
    Cheers!

  • I was wondering if you ever considered changing the page layout of your
    website? Its very well written; I love what youve got
    to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better.
    Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or two pictures.
    Maybe you could space it out better?

  • It's in point of fact a great and helpful piece of info.

    I am happy that you just shared this helpful information with us.
    Please stay us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  • I couldn't resist commenting. Exceptionally well written!

  • Heya i'm for the primary time here. I came across this board and I
    to find It really useful & it helped me out much. I'm hoping to give one thing again and
    aid others like you helped me.

  • I appreciate, lead to I discovered exactly what I was looking for.
    You have ended my 4 day lengthy hunt! God Bless you
    man. Have a nice day. Bye

  • Hi to all, the contents present at this web page are really
    remarkable for people knowledge, well, keep up the nice work fellows.

  • Interesting blog! Is your theme custom made or did
    you download it from somewhere? A theme like yours with
    a few simple adjustements would really make my blog stand out.
    Please let me know where you got your design. Thank you

  • Definitely imagine that which you stated. Your favourite justification appeared to
    be on the web the easiest factor to remember of.
    I say to you, I certainly get annoyed whilst other
    people think about worries that they just do not recognise about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the highest as
    smartly as outlined out the entire thing with no need
    side-effects , folks could take a signal. Will probably be back to get more.
    Thanks

  • There are nevertheless some options leftover that can provide
    you relief when trying to pay back students loan Amour Fou truefrench
    moviz what's the worst that can happen if you ask me if i default by
    using an sba loan.

  • Superb, what a webpage it is! This blog presents valuable information to us, keep
    it up.

  • I don't see many commenters here, it means you don't get
    many visitors. I know how to get laser targeted traffic from the largest traffic sources in the world and
    make your website go viral. If you want to know simply search
    in google for:
    Juuri13 SEO advice

  • Craigslist has a lot more than 700 local sites in 70
    countries, and that means you're likely to
    locate a classified section for ones community.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.