Month: August 2013

  • close your eyes

    This news makes me so very sad:

     

    LOS ANGELES (AP) — Linda Ronstadt says she suffers from Parkinson’s disease, which has robbed her ability to sing.

    The 67-year-old music legend tells AARP Magazine, in an article posted online Friday, that she was diagnosed eight months ago and “can’t sing a note.”

    Ronstadt says she began to show symptoms as long as eight years ago, but attributed her inability to sing then to a tick disease. When her hands began to tremble, Ronstadt said she thought the shaking was the result of a shoulder operation.

    She said she was “completely shocked” when she finally saw a neurologist and was diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease. “I wouldn’t have suspected that in a million, billion years.

    “No one can sing with Parkinson’s disease,” Ronstadt told AARP music writer Alanna Nash. “No matter how hard you try.”

     

     

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZnrHXQVEXDo

     

    have a good week

    ilym

     

  • In spite of ourselves

    We're back from the wedding celebration

    Bryants and Walshs

    the venue

    if your ever in Purcellville Virginia you should go 

    wine tasting at the winery

    well, except for Aaron and he's drinking beer from a red solo cup

    sisters

    looking at the Walsh's front porch

     looking at the vineyard from the front porch

    the winery

    it's solar powered

    nieces and nephews drank wine 

    grandkids didn't drink - much

    some wore funny hats and played with very large tennis balls

    there is just nothing like a porch swing

    or the folks who occupy them

    back view of the wedding dress

    the bride and groom sang together beautifully

    mostly John Prine songs 

     

     

    it was a magical week and I fully intend to blog about the whole trip 

    lest I forget one single moment

     

    cool

     

    but first I have to prepare for an annual board meeting and two audits at work

    whatevah

    I'll be back around asap

     

    life is good

    heart

    it's all good

     

     

    ° ø

     

     

    "In spite of ourselves"

    original music by John Prine & Iris DeMent 

    as sung by Nate and Sarah

     

    Nate:
    She don't like her eggs all runny
    She thinks crossin' her legs is funny
    She looks down her nose at money
    She gets it on like the Easter Bunny
    She's my baby, I'm her honey
    I'm never gonna let her go

    Sarah:
    He ain't got laid in a month of Sundays
    Caught him once and he was sniffin' my undies
    He ain't too sharp but he gets things done
    Drinks his beer like it's oxygen
    He's my baby, I'm his honey
    I'm never gonna let him go

     

    Everyone:

    In spite of ourselves

    We'll end up a'sittin' on a rainbow

    Against all odds

    Honey, we're the big door prize

    We're gonna spite our noses

    Right off of our faces

    There won't be nothin' but big old hearts

    Dancin' in our eyes.

     

     

    ilym 

  • “If only…”

    We'll be leaving soon for our kids Sarah and Nate's wedding celebration,

    Georgia to Virginia in 10 hours, unless I drive then it will take a few many hours more, I like to take the back roads, where people don't drive like their running the Daytona or Talladega or I-75 Super Speedways,

    anyway I liked the title of this post, these are some really important life lessons and make me think....

    If only I'd started that diet in January clueless   

    I'll be back in a week...

    your going to miss me...you know you are

    but mark your calendar so you don't miss the 2013 Perseids make their return on the nights of August 11-12 and 12-13.

    Perseid meteor over Iran
    A Perseid meteor zips over Iran's Alamut Valley during the peak of the Perseid meteor shower in August 2012. 

    The Perseid meteor shower peaks this year when there's almost no Moon, affording a dark sky for late-night shooting-star spectators and counters. A thick waxing crescent Moon sets in mid-evening, so it will offer little interference for this year's event.

    (thanks Sky and Telescope magazine - it's the essential guide to astronomy)

     

    "If Only"

     

    These two words paired together create one of the saddest phrases in the English language.

    Here are ten choices that ultimately lead to this phrase of regret, and how to elude them:

    1. Wearing a mask to impress others. – If the face you always show the world is a mask, someday there will be nothing beneath it.  Because when you spend too much time concentrating on everyone else’s perception of you, or who everyone else wants you to be, you eventually forget who you really are.  So don’t fear the judgments of others; you know in your heart who you are and what’s true to you.  You don’t have to be perfect to impress and inspire people.  Let them be impressed and inspired by how you deal with your imperfections.
    2. Letting someone else create your dreams for you. – The greatest challenge in life is discovering who you are; the second greatest is being happy with what you find.  A big part of this is your decision to stay true to your own goals and dreams.  Do you have people who disagree with you?  Good.  It means you’re standing your ground and walking your own path.  Sometimes you’ll do things considered crazy by others, but when you catch yourself excitedly losing track of time, that’s when you’ll know you’re doing the right thing. 
    3. Keeping negative company. – Don’t let someone who has a bad attitude give it to you.  Don’t let them get to you.  They can’t pull the trigger if you don’t hand them the gun.  When you remember that keeping the company of negative people is a choice, instead of an obligation, you free yourself to keep the company of compassion instead of anger, generosity instead of greed, and patience instead of anxiety.
    4. Being selfish and egotistical. – A life filled with loving deeds and good character is the best tombstone.  Those who you inspired and shared your love with will remember how you made them feel long after your time has expired.  So carve your name on hearts, not stone.  What you have done for yourself alone dies with you; what you have done for others and the world remains...
    5. Avoiding change and growth. – If you want to know your past look into your present conditions.  If you want to know your future look into your present actions.  You must let go of the old to make way for the new; the old way is gone, never to come back.  If you acknowledge this right now and take steps to address it, you will position yourself for lasting success.  The Power of Habit.
    6. Giving up when the going gets tough. – There are no failures, just results.  Even if things don’t unfold the way you had expected, don’t be disheartened or give up.  Learn what you can and move on.  The one who continues to advance one step at a time will win in the end.  Because the battle is always won far away and long before the final victory.  It’s a process that occurs with small steps, decisions, and actions that gradually build upon each other and eventually lead to that glorious moment of triumph.
    7. Trying to micromanage every little thing. – Life should be touched, not strangled.    Sometimes you’ve got to relax and let life happen without incessant worry and micromanagement.  Learn to let go a little before you squeeze too tight.  Take a deep breath.  When the dust settles and you can once again see the forest for the trees, take the next step forward.  You don’t have to know exactly where you’re going to be headed somewhere great.  Everything in life is in perfect order whether you understand it yet or not.  It just takes some time to connect all the dots.
    8. Settling for less than you deserve. – Be strong enough to let go and wise enough to wait for what you deserve.  Sometimes you have to get knocked down lower than you have ever been to stand up taller than you ever were before.  Sometimes your eyes need to be washed by your tears so you can see the possibilities in front of you with a clearer vision again.  Don’t settle..........
    9. Endlessly waiting until tomorrow. – The trouble is, you always think you have more time than you do.  But one day you will wake up and there won’t be any more time to work on the things you’ve always wanted to do.  And at that point you either will have achieved the goals you set for yourself, or you will have a list of excuses for why you haven’t.  ......................................
    10. Being lazy and wishy-washy. – The world doesn’t owe you anything, you owe the world something.  So stop daydreaming and start DOING.  Develop a backbone, not a wishbone.  Take full responsibility for your life – take control.  You are important and you are needed.  It’s too late to sit around and wait for somebody to do something someday.  Someday is now; the somebody the world needs is YOU.

     

    Have a Great Week

    Catch a falling Star

    Kiss a Bride

    or a Groom

    ilym

  • and the survey says

    Because sometimes I like jumping on the band wagon clueless

    also I'm time stamping from home every so often

     

    What was the last thing you put in your mouth? white toast with raspberry jam,  jam from the dollar tree, it cost a buck for a jar and was very good, not as good as @saintvi's though.

    Have you ever kissed anyone named Matthew? Yes, my oldest son's name was Matthew, I'd give anything in the world for one more kiss...I say kiss all you can while you can, you just never know what the future holds.

    Where was your profile picture taken? ironically from the cemetery

    Can you play guitar hero? I've never tried, but I can play a few chords on a real guitar which makes me much cooler.

    Name someone that made you laugh today?  Nash came in the office a bit ago, you cain't help but laugh when he's around.

    How late did you stay up last night and why? Until about 2:30 AM and again ironically I was watching family feud...

    If you could move somewhere else, would you? Yes, I'd move to Texas to be nearer my family or where the salt water meets the sandy shore.

    Ever been kissed under fireworks? Not that I can recall.

    Which of your friends lives closest to you? hummm -does the husband count? of course he does...my husband Barry is the answer

     

    Do you believe ex's can be friends? for some folks yes, I don't think it would be possible for me if that were the case though =/

    How do you feel about Dr Pepper? I'm a Pepper, he's a Pepper, She's a Pepper, we're a Pepper, Wouldn't you like to be a Pepper, too? Be a Pepper. Drink Dr Pepper.

    When was the last time you cried really hard? A couple of weeks ago.

    Where are you right now? At work, it's lunch time and since I had toast and jam earlier I have some free time now clueless

    What bed did you sleep in last night? My own bed, it's an old iron bed with an old but comfy mattress.

    What was the last thing someone bought for you for dinner? Fish from Captain D's

    Who took your profile picture? I did.

    Who was the last person you took a picture of? my daughter Anna

    Was yesterday better than today? No 

    Can you live a day without TV? Yup.

    Are you mad about anything? Nope - I don't do mad, I get angry occasionally though

    Are you upset about anything? Nope.

    Do you think relationships are ever really worth it? Well Yes - where would we be without them, except alone...which would be nice sometimes but not all the time.

    Are you a bad influence? sometimes I am very bad....

    Night out or night in? In.

    What items could you not go without during the day? the Mr. Coffee Machine

    Who was the last person you visited in the hospital?My bosses mother.. she fell and broke her leg, had a partial hip replacement and is still not doing well.

    What does the last text message in your inbox say? no cell phone so no text for me =/

    How do you feel about your life right now? Life is Good

    Do you hate anyone? No.

    If we were to look in your xanga inbox, what would we find? a whole lot of find me here messages.

    Say you were given a drug test right now, would you pass? I would test positive for keflex...bronchitis sux wtf

    Has anyone ever called you perfect before? No and I don't see that ever happening.

    What song is stuck in your head? "be still and know"      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lHlbnNUHQGI our church choir does it the best though.

    Someone knocks on your window at 2am, who do you want it to be? Ed McMahon and the Prize Patrol silly

    Wanna have grandkids before you’re 50? I had two by the time I was 40 and I'll have a great grandchild before I'm 60..we don't waste much time in our family heart

    Name something you have to do tomorrow? I've been trying to think what I have to do, I think I'm free for the first time in a long time.

    Do you think too much or too little? Way too much!

    Do you smile a lot? Yes.

    Who was your last missed call on your Mobile phone? evidently I'm the last american girl without a cell phone whatevah

    Is there something you always wear? Nope.

    What were you doing 30 minutes ago? collecting rent - it's what I do the first of the month.

    Did you have an exciting last weekend? Yes, My Grandson Reese got married and we went to a (insert drum roll) Biker Rally shocked

    Have you ever crawled through a window? Yes.

    Have you ever dyed your hair? Nope, locks for love takes processed hair but I can't see it being a good thing, you never know how a cancer patient will react to chemicals no matter how insignificant.

    Are you wearing a necklace? No.

    Are you an emotional person? yes - no - maybe

    What's something that can always make you feel better? the sound of children laughing ... there is no sweeter sound.

    Will this weekend be a good one? Yes, Margaritas will be involved.

    What do you want right now? tomorrows margaritas would be nice.

    Have you ever worn the opposite sex's clothing? yes but I won't elaborate, however I will say that I love nice big cotton button down ( or is it up ) dress shirts

    Have you ever worked in a food place? yes, I worked for Davis Brothers Cafeteria in high school, started out rolling silver wear, then I served behind the food line, graduated to the cash register (always gave the Air Force guys a break),helped cook when the cooks didn't show up on time  and eventually moved to the office made the deposits, ordered food and stuff and did basic accounting, it was my first accounting experience and has served me well ...I don't think they are in business anymore, probably cause I gave the Air Force guys a break =/

    What's on your schedule for tomorrow? for the first time in ages I don't have anything scheduled for tomorrow, well all the dogs need a bath that's about it though..unless I clean house - yuck!

    Does anyone know your xanga password? I don't know, I use the same password for everything but I doubt anyone would remember it.

     

    There ya go...me in a nutshell clueless

    But wait - I'm adding a new question:

    How many Hummingbirds have you caught in your life time?  5

     
     
     
    This was the last one,
    she flew into the office and I caught and released her
    you wouldn't believe how fast their little hearts beep
     
    also behind her are my desk flowers
    I've had gardenias blooming since the first of June,
    when the gardenias start blooming I know
    it's time to open my bedroom windows
    for 
    two months of glorious fragrance
     
    Have A Great Weekend
     
    ilym
     
     
    breaking news from Pennsylvania
     
    Today Dave came home from Hershey Medical Center and he's doing well, thank you for all the prayers on his behalf, kind thoughts, well wishes and love that you sent !

    Today Dave came home from Hershey Medical Center and he's doing well,
    thank you for all the prayers on his behalf,
    kind thoughts,
    well wishes and
    love that you sent !
     
    posted by Glicks Greenhouses
     
    YAY - DAVE
    laughing


     
  • August

    great billowy clouds hang in the azure blue sky

    corn grows as tall as an elephants eye

    lightnin bugs and stars

    twinkle like diamonds

     perseids fly 

    kids wait on buses

    backpacks in tow

    we are here

    not much has changed

    for which

    I am thankfull

    ilym

    heart