November 12, 2013

  • itsy bitsy spiders

    The weather was beautiful and mild this morning when I came to work.

     

    Since then a blue northern has - well - blown in

     

    and it's cold outside.

     

    I have one tomato plant, in a big container, I brought it in.

     

    Now I have about a dozen baby spiders spinning webs

     

     

    between my computer and some upright files.

     

    They sure are busy!!!!

     

    Have a Great Evening!!!!!!

    ilym

     

    I'm going home.

Comments (34)

  • Aggghh! I would have had a panic attack! I really don't like spiders...

  • Bringing in the tomato plant sounds great... baby spiders, not so great!

    • the spiders were sort of fun to watch, but people kept telling me I had ants...that's about the size they were...not too scary!

  • I'm not frightened of spiders, but I don't like to get bit by them, so I guess I would encourage them back outside.

  • you can watch the spiders grow now

  • That's kind of late for a tomato plate to still be producing, isn't it? I don't know, my mom never brought hers inside, just tore them down or let them get covered by snow, ha. Well, at least the spiders might discourage other insects.

    • it is late for tomatoes, this one I planted late so it's more of a potted plant than the garden variety and is still producing flowers and fruit! I got three tomatoes from it last week, I'm hoping for fresh tomatoes for thanksgiving!

  • lol - Yes, you don't think about the bugs when you bring them in. They do stay with the plants though. I brought my tomato plants in about 3 weeks ago. I just saw today that where I thought I only had 2 tomato's I now have 4 growing. It is a bit of a thrill to still have fresh tomato's in winter. I can only do it because I have a sunroom.

    • All our tomatoes planted in the ground have long since passed, the one I planted in a pot I've already brought in a couple of times but I take it back out when the weather warms back up, it doesn't really stay cold for long around here...

  • I have dust bunnies, but no spiders that I know of! Eek! :-D
    It seems Winter is making itself known this week! :-)
    HUGS!!! :-)

  • I call my grandson Spider Boy, because he is crazy about spiders! He is only four, but he knows a lot about them. When I was visiting, my job was to stun flies which we then flicked on to spider webs. It was cool to see the spiders come hurrying out and grab them! Outside spiders are fine, but in my house, inside spiders "meet their maker!"

    • My grandson Nash is four too, We've called him Nash Taters since he was born, now all of a sudden we can't call him Tater anymore :( We have to call him Nash Ninja Turtle :) he doesn't like spiders though!

  • Good morning... ryc: my daughter tells me that the lizards will have gone into hibernation mode. :-)

  • I do not like the cold. I don't know why I live here... I mean besides the fact that all my friends and family are here.

  • Want me to send a lizard over to eat the spiders?!
    ;-) :-D

    • I would love to have some lizards...but I would get them special lizard food, these spiders are so tiny I don't think they would make a meal :)

  • Simon thanks you. He has left xanga too. (No money in his little pockets).

    • I miss Simon, I thought of him while my little spiders were spinning silk threads around my desk...well they probably aren't silk but you get the idea! I miss you around here too Carlo!

  • RYC about the songs . I realize we are in the almost same situation, Marsha . I add I have two or three songs available in my memory that I sing during family meals .
    ILYM
    Michel

  • Blessed are you Marsha you get feely all of that silk yoo make scarves,and various clothes .
    This being said I know some of my daughters and grandaughters who would scream of terror in seeing them!!!:-)
    It is cold this morning but strangely sunny . I am going too wash the cars now before the frost . Afterwards I will cut the water outside .
    ILYM
    Michel

  • I hate spider. I was bitten by a black widow in my 20's. I do not recommend it.

  • I am also having a tomato harvest in November! I have three potted plants still producing and should have mine on Thanksgiving ripe and fine. I regret deeply that while saving the vegetables I forgot my Christmas cactus and I fear it will not make it. ;-(

  • I do not like spiders. if I see one at the beginning of Spring or Fall, I get the people from the exterminators to come and spray their thing. But I won't mind having tomatoes.

  • I notice my pulse gets super fast and my breathing nears asthma attack levels when I see a spider.

  • Hi hon, but I'm not really at xanga.

    http://mizbee.net/Patchwork/Nov/19Nov_2013.htm

    Is where I wrote today. :-)

  • RYC :I am not surprising it was a cherokee who founded your town, Marsha .
    But I have realized after your comment my memory has failed about the American Indian woman, Lorraine Nakai , that I knew at the beginning of Xanga? She was a Navajo and I have just discovered she is on Google.. And this the language Navajo that was used to code the messages of the US Navy .
    ILYM
    MIchel

  • RYC: tweeting and H5-0. I like Kono, too. I certainly prefer her to Catherine.
    I don't have a cell phone, either. I tweet and receive tweets on my computer. I did't know you could do that until recently. Maybe i was better off not knowing!
    I had to bring in some plants,too, and a moth flew out of one of them!

  • Lol, about the spiders. I have people in my house who will almost knock a hole in the wall or break things to smash a spider! I just get a tissue and flush them away. :-)

    It's raining here today but not real cold. Found ants eating an apple outside.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.