December 10, 2013

  • A Christmas Survey – Holly Jolly Fun!!!

    has  a Christmas survey for us...

    and let me take this moment to say how thankful I am for her

     always positive and caring nature!

    *****EDIT*****

    all the photographs below are from the internet

    Now - on with the survey

     1.   Have you been naughty or nice this year?

    yes!

    2.   What is one of your favorite Christmas songs?

    O come, O come, Emmanuel

     the mid-19th century translation by John Mason Neale and Henry Sloane Coffin of the Ecclesiatical Latin text "Veni, veni, Emmanuel". It is a metrical version of the O Antiphons from the final week of Advent vespers, which now serves as a popular hym. Its origins are unclear: it is thought that the antiphons are from at least the 8th Century, but "Veni, veni Emmanuel" may well be 12th century in origin. The text is based on the biblical prophecy from Isaiah 7:14 that states that God will give Israel a sign that will be called Immanuel (Lit.:God with us). Matthew 1:23 states fulfillment of this prophecy in the birth of Jesus of Nazareth.

    it's Marcias favorite too!

    3.   What is one of your favorite Christmas movies?

    Prancer 

    Jessica (Rebecca Harrell), the daughter of an impoverished farmer, still believes in Santa Claus. So when she comes across a reindeer with an injured leg, it makes perfect sense to her to assume that it is Prancer, who had fallen from a Christmas display in town. She hides him in her barn and feeds him cookies, until she can return him to Santa. Her father ( Sam Elliott and who don't like Sam Elliott)  finds him and decides to sell him to the butcher, not for venison chops, but as an advertising display.

    4.   What is one of your favorite Christmas foods/drinks?

     Sugarplums

    there are many different recipes but this is the one Mom made for us:

    pit a prune and a date, stuff the date with peanut butter and stuff that into the prune and roll in granulated sugar!

    "The children were nestled all snug in their beds, While visions of sugar-plums danced in their heads"

    5.   What do you look forward to most at Christmas?

    being with family, church and elementary school programs

    6.   How early do you wake up on Christmas morning?

    about 7:30 depending on the Christmas Eve activities

     

    7.   What is one of your best Christmas memories?

    the year we got bikes,

    our youngest sister got a tricycle

    the day after Christmas it was stolen

    our Dad drove up the dirt road looking for it and found it at an old house

    the family living there didn't  have much except lots of kids and one of them was riding it

    Daddy just turned around and came home

    He never said a word about it...

    I think  we all learned about the spirit of giving that year

     

    8.   Have you ever gotten coal in your Christmas stocking?

    Well No....

    ouch!!!!

    dang I hate when my nose grows longer

     

    9.   What is one of your Christmas traditions?

    I deck the halls with Hallmark reindeer

    more than two hundred of them

    10.   Are you finished with your Christmas shopping?

    no

    =(

     

    11.  What was one of your favorite Christmas gifts you received as a child?

    my 1962 black bubble hair cut barbie

     this is her on the left,

    my sister got the red head,

    I still have mine

    I wish I had her case and bathing suit too

    12.   Do you have a favorite Christmas recipe you’d like to share?

    Uncle Charles Pecan Pie

    beat 3 eggs until fluffy

    add and mix well:

    1/2 cup brown sugar

    1/2 cup white sugar

    1/2 cup karo syrup

    3 tablespoons melted butter

    1 teaspoon vanilla, if you don't have vanilla you can use rum pum pum pum

    a pinch of salt

    2 cups pecans

    pour into a deep dish unbaked pie shell

    bake at 425 for 15 minutes

    reduce heat to 350 and bake 45 minutes longer

    I like a dollop of whipped cream on mine

    Hope everyone is staying warm, cozy, unstressed, overfed and Happy!!!!

    and being good!

     you know he's watching

    making list and all....

    *******************************************************************

    just a bit ago I was  outside the office leaning against the brick columns that had been nice and warmed by the afternoon sun

    when a  Perigrin Falcon landed in a holly bush about a foot away

    he stayed for about a minute trying to figure out what sort of creature I was before he flew away

    Life is so very good 

    ilym

Comments (18)

  • I got the 1963 Midge and my sister got the blonde Barbie with a pony tail. Midge had a bubble cut. I was not happy. I soooo wanted Barbie and not her lame friend.

    • that's so funny - I wanted my sisters redheaded barbie, but learned to love the one and only barbie I had, although I did get Ken the next year...he had felt hair =))))

  • YAY!!! :-D Thank you for playing along with the survey!!! :-)

    When I put the questions together (Things I wanted to know about everyone) I thought, "Hmm...a lot of these questions could be answered with photos! :-) So, I love all the photos you used! :-)

    OOH! Sam Elliott!!! :-) I have a major crush on him!!! :-)

    Hey, Fellow-Coal-Getter!!! ;-)
    Ha, on your answer to the first question! :-D

    The sugarplums sound yumnmy! :-)

    Aw, your memory brought joy-tears to my eyes! Your Dad did THE BEST thing! And what a wonderful lesson in giving! :-)

    Wow on the reindeer! That is SO cool! :-)

    I bought my own first Barbie. I saved up money I got for helping other people...like watering their flowers, picking up trash, etc. I still have my first Barbie. She is sitting on a shelf in my family room.:-)

    I love that Santa is watching me! ;-) :-D

    That photo of the falcon is stunning! :-) I like what you said. I often wonder if animals go home and say, "Some weird creature was staring at me today." Ha! ;-)

    HUGS!!! :-)

  • I like the way you did the answers on the questions,too.
    I got the first baby with the ponytail and blonde little curls for bangs. I just have the head left and my little brother cut the pony tail off.

  • OH! Thank you so much for your kind words and for being thankful for me! :-)
    I am thankful for YOU! You always make me laugh and bring me smiles! :-)
    HUGS!!! :-)

  • you are very privileged to see the falcon!

  • That's a wonderful shot of the falcon -- and what a treat that you got to see hm!

  • They didn't have Barbies when I was little. I got a Storybook doll every year for Christmas. I still have some of them. My 5 yr. old wanted a Barbie. I thought she was too young and wanted her to still play with baby dolls. Then we went to a Christmas party. Santa gave her a Barbie. She brought it to me, smiled, and said "See Mommy. Santa knows best."

  • I really shouldn't copy your recipe for the pecan pie. Mohamed would die to have a bite of that. I like a dollop of vanilla ice cream on mine.

  • Oh yeah, Sam Elliot can share my Christmas stocking anytime!

  • Oooooo. Pecan pie. Now I'm drooling!

  • Love the old fashioned Pinocchio. Who would ever give you a piece of coal for Christmas!? :D I did hardly any shopping for Christmas yet! Groan. I might not do that much this year either. We'll see. Hope you stay safe and warm too. It would be easier in Florida! :-)

  • Is not wonderful to have a falcon friend ,Marsha ?
    ILYM
    Michel
    ps : I have been busy this week and I am late.

  • We are a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community.
    Your site offered us with valuable info to work on. You've done a formidable job and our whole community
    will be grateful to you.

  • Ahora tienes a tu alcance todos los productos de entre los mayores
    almacenes de España, lleno de material listo para ser enviado al
    instante.

  • Pues estos juguetes para adultos son muy firme, la mayoría de la gente va con un tamano un poco mas pequeno.

  • Nos ofrecen juegos, risas, placer y lo mejor de todo, mantienen activa nuestra pasión.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.